The Obligation of Being a Photographer

Jesse Gross Photography:

A good message for this Friday morning. Thought that I would share.

Originally posted on Photofocus:

I don’t usually step up on my soapbox… but I feel the need to now. I am not going to talk about violence, social contracts, civil rights abuses, or war. I have my feelings about all of those, but this is not the place.

What I am going to talk about is the obligation that I share with many others… that of being a photographer and a storyteller. I studied journalism and worked in the field for many years. I left in part because I became frustrated with the path that it was on (and have since become even more frustrated). Journalism is about reporting and discovering the truth, not spewing opinions and repeating the same images repeatedly until they imprint upon the brain.

Many of you reading this website have the knowledge to create. Perhaps it’s photos, video, or words. You know how to tell a story and show…

View original 432 more words

Leave a Reply

